Land and Sky

IMGP4306

I was driving along the Palouse highway in April last year and after taking an exit onto a gravel road, I came across this view. What I saw instantly reminded me of the famous Windows wallpaper ‘Bliss’. When I first moved to the Palouse, I was awestruck by the beauty of the rolling hills that adorn the landscape of eastern Washington. Having seen this landscape on a daily basis, I wondered why it looked so much more beautiful on this particular day. The reason? Clouds. Clouds soften the harsh light from the sun and they also impart a beautiful glow to these wonderful green fields. The dance of shadows over the hills only adds to the breathtaking view.

For a long time I was convinced that the rolling hills in the Windows wallpaper was photographed in this area. But it turns out it was actually taken in Sonoma County, California.

Leave a Reply

